The Magic Of Creativity

10525953_1414422512132369_6503126517373484699_n

I’ve been a magician for four years now. Nearly every time I show someone a trick at one of my stands, they ask how I learned all of it.

At the age of ten, me and my sisters were always going to the library. To us, (and especially from a young age) the library seemed like our endless source of information, so much so is how I stumbled upon my favorite past time. My sisters had just told me that it was time to go, so I grabbed the first interesting looking book I saw. It was a book on card tricks, I thought it looked like something I might like reading just to learn how they did it. Soon the next day, I was showing everyone I could card tricks (which still remain my favorite type of trick). Soon I was looking up more tricks on the internet, and in a very short period of time I went from beginner to intermediate. And then as advanced further, my knowledge and understanding of the art increased, as any other fellow magician would understand. Then came a very big step for me. As I watched and learned,

10924_1411905535717400_4339908808184998551_n

I realized that I had the potential to create my own tricks. Probably a year after I had gone full blown into magic was when I created my first trick. It was (you guessed it) a card trick. I’m pretty sure it had something to do with your card switching places with mine 😉 . After that they kept coming and I’ve been inventing ever since. I realized that above all other things, being able to free up your creativity was THE most important thing. Think about it, everything starts with an idea. Before you could make that sandwich, you had to think about it first (yes, I always relate everything to food), but its true. Everything you create starts out as a thought. thats really how magic works. If you can make someone believe something before they even see it… there you go.

In 2012, I started doing magic stands wherever I could. I started doing some weekly at the Farmer’s Market. That was great, until they told me I wasn’t allowed to perform there because they have some rule about not being able to touch the customers. Weird, right? So I do it anyway. 10577108_1411902392384381_4771991334995458941_n10628489_700588670019505_2951774212138876952_n

My first magician name was The Great Donovini. It started out as a joke when I showed my first trick to my whole family, (it stuck). Some guy at my magic stand once remarked, “Sounds Irish Italian”. That wasn’t the reason for me changing my name, (well, sorta…) it was partly because I wanted something a bit more professional sounding and a little more serious. So thats when Donovan Donovan came in, it too was a sort of joke when my sister kept calling me and said that that should just me my name from now on “Donovan! Donovan!”….. I love my sisters….

10632659_700565000021872_5083707087944776328_n 10451164_721596337918738_6315228834577544754_n

So now, coming back to the present day, I’ve learned over 4000, card tricks, forgot over 8000 card tricks, plus around 300 other tricks. I usually invent one new trick every few weeks or so. Heres my recent ones: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7IfAaYfjFX8 . https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=voec8CpBGwY .  As I mentioned earlier, Card tricks are my favorite. Why? Well, apart from the fact the I’m a total bad-ass with a deck in my hand, and that if some one asks me to do a few tricks for them, I don’t have to keep pulling prop after prop from my pockets, I simply love the feel of doing card tricks, being able to flourish them with ease. Of course, I’m still not perfect, on the contrary, I practice anytime I can, just because you make learn how to do a trick perfectly, and then stop, come back, and not be able to do it anymore. I also love to collect new decks of cards. It keeps my creativity open and fresh. It still amazes me how so much of what I’ve learned can be applied to every day circumstances. For instance, I can use some basic metalism skills to predict what someones going to say or if that car is going to stop for you to walk. In the end, its just common sense. 80% of people driving expensive cars aren’t going to stop for you to walk, and you can usually predict whats someones going to say by where there eyes are looking. think about things before they happen, and you’ll   be surprised at what happens.

Magic is all over the place, the trick is seeing it.

-Donovan

Leave a Reply

